Switch Accessories You’ll Need – When Travelling

So if you are a gaming fan let it be console or handheld, I am sure sometimes you’ll be bringing them along with you for either business trip or a long haul holiday vacation. For me yeah I do bring around my Nintendo Switch at times for business trips or vacations that’s more than 3 or 4 days long. So today I am sharing, for those who are fan of the Nintendo Switch, what are the accessories that I normally bring with me when I do pack my Switch with me for my trips.

Nintendo Switch OLED
My Switch model is the OLED one since I need a big screen as well as the Bluetooth technology without using a 3rd party Bluetooth broadcast. So it was only natural I get the OLED since they fit those criteria and it’s the latest model. I will also bring my Joy-Con wrist strap accessories for the need of playing motion based games occasionally.

Protective Case
Just a case that protects the Switch from harm when you’re travelling around. The case I use comes with the OLED when I bought it and it protects the OLED Switch along 10 gaming cartridges of your choice. Trust me I don’t really bring 10 games along with me since half of them are digital and the rest are physical cards. There’s a slot too for cable to charge, wrist strap or wired headphones if you’re into the wired connection.

Genki Convert Dock
Probably an important gadget. This eliminate the need to bring the standard size bulky dock that Nintendo supplies and replaces it with a plug adapter size that acts as both charging station and dock. So I can play my Switch on the TV in the hotel room when I want via the HDMI cable. Only draw back however is if the plug is far away from the TV, I need a really long HDMI cable to connect to the TV. Nevertheless, the Genki Convert Dock saves space and ease of usage when travelling. A must have. Remember to bring along the supplied charging cable and HDMI cable as well.

Aolion Charging Station Charger
I don’t know about you but when I play Switch to a TV, I prefer the gaming controller look and feel rather than separately joy cons for most of the games. Of course those that requires motion, I won’t be using the controller. Now the included Joy-con Grip is a bit bulky to be carried around when travelling, so I opted for a smaller compact one and got this Aolion one. Actually there’s a lot of brand for this similar controller design so I’m not sure which is which. Its a bit more compact for travelling purposes plus its rechargeable and can charge the joy-cons when connected. Neat.

Earphones
A must have. Depending on the preference it can be either a wired one or a wireless one. When it comes to handheld devices I prefer using earphones when playing since its not intrusive and only you’ll be hearing the sound. When it comes to using via the dock then its a different story since the TV speaker will do that for me. But sometimes, I do use Bluetooth earphone while playing via the TV. I use my Baseus Encok W05 Wireless Earbuds. Though sometimes using this specific earphones while playing on TV I do experience signal loss at times unlike through my JBL GO 2 speakers.

Powerbank
No explanations here. Just in case you need some juice for your Switch on the go, a power bank is always useful. Just be sure to get a good one with PD delivery for a quick charge and probably 10,000mAh and above just to be safe. Me I use my old PINENG brand 20,000mAh power bank for Switch. Though its big, it’s slimmer than most of the 20,000mAh powerbank out there.

Bluetooth Speaker (Optional)
Now this is an option actually. Most of the time I don’t need to bring this unless I know there’s no TV and only available monitor without speakers then this is needed. If playing via a PC monitor or TV with no HDMI and you’re not planning to use earphones, then a portable speaker is the answer. Don’t need to be a powerful one but a simple compact but good sound one like JBL GO 2 that I use is enough to provide the sound without interruption via Bluetooth connection.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.