KL Car Free Morning 2022 – It’s Good To Cycle In Public Part 3

Cycling is done, the KL Car Free Morning for the week is over now lets just look into the data side of the ride. Prior to all this I didn’t have the watch or sensors to calculate all of this the last time I went to this event. But I do now using my Garmin Forerunner 945 and yeah I even hook up a cadence and speed sensors to the bike for testing purposes. Using the inexpensive Magene S3+ 2 in 1 sensors for both the cadence and speed. Let’s start with the official route of the event and let’s get to the data for those interested in them.

Typically the route is 7km and I did about 2 complete loop give or take since I didn’t do the full route and cut certain section. And as you can tell some of those real blue section is where there’s slight elevation hence the slower cycling speed. And those with green and orange ones are usually the flat area or slightly descending elevation. Official timing I did was 13.52km in about 50 minutes of cycling and some stops in between to take pictures or well even a mamak stop from light breakfast and Nescafe.

From the data here is well elevation is pretty much flat with some high points but not very high. Got some speed and cadence statistics from the install Magene S3+ I hooked up to my foldie. (Yeah I have all my bikes hook up with those sensors individually). So my average speed looks to be 16km and 69rpm for cadence. Heart rate average is 140bpm mostly will be along the lines of Zone 3 and Zone 4 at times so not much there since again this ride is classified as “Santai”.

The weather was perfect and by 8am onwards, there was a lot more riders and runners joining the fun so you need to be aware of your surroundings and don’t just cut into lanes without looking behind since yeah runners and cyclist alike don’t follow the rules and just go on about their activities on any lanes they see. Just today alone I saw two people fell down to the ground, one on his own, the other I think was hit by another runner or cyclist. Also plenty of people dropping things and stop in the middle of lane without warning. So yeah be careful.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.